House of Hearing - SLC

1588 E 3300 S Millcreek, UT 84106
(801) 590-3552


Photo of Jake LeRoy, BC-HIS from House of Hearing - SLC

Jake LeRoy,

Board Certified in Hearing Instrument Sciences

Jake has worked in the hearing business since 2003 and is an expert at identifying issues and adjusting hearing instruments so patients can improve their hearing and quality of life. Jake received his B.S. degree from Westminster College and is a certified hearing instrument specialist. Jake and his wife, Molly LeRoy, are owners of The House of Hearing.

Photo of Molly LeRoy, AuD, CCC-A, BC-HIS from House of Hearing - SLC

Molly LeRoy,


Molly began working in the hearing instrument industry in 1998 while attending the University of Utah. She received her Doctorate of Audiology from the University of Utah in 2009. Having worked in the hearing instrument business for more than 14 years, Molly has undergone intense training and coursework to fully understand all aspects of hearing loss, testing and hearing aid technology. Molly’s dedication and commitment to helping people hear better is shown through the passionate care she provides to each patient every day.

Jenna Floreani


Clinic location map


Healthy Hearing posts all positive and negative reviews that meet publishing criteria.

Read 9 verified patient reviews for House of Hearing - SLC! Their average review score is 3.22 () from 9 reviews.

Write a review Sort by:

“I feel like this company is only interested in the money end of the contract they do not care about the patient. When I complained that they charged over $500.00 to clear wax from the one ear, they said " well your mom has insurance doesn't she? " So what they are saying is because your mom has insurance it's ok that we over charge for our services. the care and service is so bad it is beyond poor service.”

Theodore Z. of Salt Lake City, UT   
07/13/2020    Review submitted online

Official Response from House of Hearing - SLC:
“Dear Theodore, I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the service your mother received. We do our best to help each patient we see. It appears that rate was charged to your mothers insurance and they paid their allowable, which covered her visit. If you'd like to discuss this in more detail please call us. Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you the best. Sincerely, Stephanie Anderson, Manager”
Received 07/15/2020

“I was assured that I would be able to return my hearing aids if they weren’t going to work for me. I’m now being told that I’ve never been in any of their locations and that I’ve only given money to my insurance company. I recently had a hearing test that I just barely met the minimum acceptable DOT standards for work. So obviously, my hearing aids serve me no purpose. I wouldn’t recommend this place.”

Jonny S. of Brigham City, UT   
05/09/2019    Review submitted online

Official Response from House of Hearing - SLC:
“Dear Jonny, Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve our services. I’m very sorry you were not satisfied with your experience at our Salt Lake City location. We work with many insurance carriers and plans and your particular benefit was a complicated one. However, I was able to speak with a representative there and learned that after several months, you returned your hearing aids. Your hearing health is an important part of your overall wellness and many factors go into a successful hearing aid use - I’m sorry you feel the hearing aids were not a significant improvement. Again, we are grateful for your opinion and wish you the best. Sincerely, Stephanie Anderson, Manager ”
Received 05/30/2019

“You were much more expensive compared to other providers. You charge a $600 restocking fee and the other providers charge nothing. I was also told over the phone that it would help you if you had my card on file. Why would you even suggest that to anyone? A credit card imformation would never be shared with anyone. ”

Ann R. of Syracuse, UT   
07/23/2018    Review submitted online

Official Response from House of Hearing - SLC:
“Dear Ann, We appreciate your feedback, we welcome opportunity for improvement. In our efforts to improve each patients’ hearing health, we offer very competitive pricing and even offered to match competitor pricing for you. I understand that you feel the restocking fee is unfair, and was glad to learn that you were never charged that fee. Because we invest precious time and experience into the trial period for new patients, it is common for a method of payment to be required when a patient takes complicated, highly technical hearing devices out of the office. I apologize if this policy made you feel uncomfortable. If you have not received the hearing healthcare you were looking for, I invite you to revisit any of our offices to discuss your options going forward. We wish you well. Sincerely, Stephanie Anderson, Manager ”
Received 05/30/2019

“First time with hearing aids. I was talked into a set of Phonak hearing aids. After the initial trial I was told they were not what I needed for my hearing and that Phonak were the cheaper brand. At that time I was told I was stuck with them. I went back to them for continued adjustments and sending them back for repair with little luck in getting them to work for me. Along with finding my supposed worthless $3000 hearing aids only had a year warranty. After house of hearing completely dropped the ball. The only way to fix the problem was to spend a few thousand more. What a joke. Luckily I found another provider at another clinic who knows his hearing aids and was actually able to arrange a meeting with Phonak reps and got my hearing aids repaired and was able to get them working perfectly. At no charge to me. It was a true blessing to find them. All in all, I feel like house of hearing is out to get your money and as far as support and knowlegable tech's and the owner Jake's lack of desire to to help his customers is a fail for them.”

Lawrence W. of West Valley City, UT   
11/02/2017    Review submitted online

“I tried hearing aids 5 years ago and gave them up as I didn't think the hearing improvement justified the cost. This year I decided to try the House of Hearing based on their claims of having a staff of hearing professionals. I think the key elements are having an expert evaluation and then having an expert adjust the digital parameters of the hearing aid to one's individual hearing needs and personal preferences. The actual brands of the top rated hearing aids are readily available from many sources but the key element is the actual programming of the hearing aid. Although The House of Hearing prices are not the cheapest, the available expertise justifies the higher cost because the end results are hearing aids that really work. And since my hearing aids now really work, I am consistent on wearing them at all times in order to have the benefit of improved hearing. I would recommend the House of Hearing to my friends in need of hearing improvement.”

John C. of Farmington, UT   
01/01/2016    Review submitted online

Fewer Reviews More Reviews

Clinic details

Founded in 1984, the House of Hearing is Salt Lake City’s oldest hearing aid and hearing test provider. We understand the importance of hearing and the devastating impact of hearing loss. We work with each of our hearing patients to ensure we find the right solution for your hearing needs. That solution may include hearing aids, assistive listening devices or therapies and treatments that can help you improve and protect your ears.

Hearing care services

  • Hearing evaluations
  • Hearing aid consultation
  • Hearing aid fitting and programming
  • Balance testing and treatment
(801) 590-3552

Hours of operation

Monday8 am - 5 pm
Tuesday8 am - 5 pm
Wednesday8 am - 5 pm
Thursday8 am - 5 pm
Friday8 am - 5 pm

Clinic links

Accepted forms of payment

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Cash
  • Check
  • Debit
Disclaimer: This clinic profile is for general information purposes only.
Oticon new superior hearing technology for everyone