Oticon Alta2 Hear every note in the symphony of life.

Cochlear Americas Winners of Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarship 2004

DENVER - January 2004 - Cochlear Americas today announced the winners of the second annual Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarship, a unique award open to Cochlear Nucleus cochlear implant recipients. The Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarship Foundation is a fund intended to provide college age students with tuition assistance. The winners are: Dmity Kashlev, Cami Noorda, Caitlin Parton and JoAnna Waldhour.

Former Miss America Heather Whitestone McCallum, a recent Cochlear Nucleus 24 Contour' recipient and chair of the Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarship Foundation, kicked off the day's events touring INNOVENTIONS at Epcot, the ever-changing theme park of discovery at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, FL, with the award winners and their families. Upon completion of the tour, the award winners were presented with their scholarships.

The winners of the second annual Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarships are Cochlear Nucleus 24 recipient Dmitry Kashlev, of Newington, CT, a freshman at Massachusetts Institute of Technology majoring in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Cochlear Nucleus 24 recipient Cami Noorda, of Henderson, NV, a freshman at Brigham Young University majoring in Secondary Education with a Visual Arts emphasis; Cochlear Nucleus 22 recipient Caitlin Parton, of Westport, CT, a freshman at the University of Chicago majoring in English and Art History; and Cochlear Nucleus 22 recipient JoAnna Waldhour, of Hardeeville, SC, a junior at East Carolina University majoring in English with a concentration in Writing. The winners were selected by a panel of judges including Heather Whitestone McCallum; Dr. Tom Balkany, University of Miami; Dr. Nancy Young, Children's Memorial; Dr. Terry Zwolan, University of Michigan; and Dr. Jon Shallop, Mayo Clinic.

About the Graeme Clark Cochlear Scholarship Foundation

The Foundation was established in 2002 in honor of Professor Graeme Clark, Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Melbourne, for his lifelong commitment to finding a solution for the hearing impaired and his pioneering work in the field of cochlear implant technology. Professor Clark invented the world's first multichannel cochlear implant over 20 years ago. Awarded by Cochlear, this scholarship consists of financial assistance towards a college degree at an accredited university. The award, which will be presented to four students annually, is paid in yearly installments upon the completion of each year of study. Each award is in the amount of $3,000 per year for a total of four years. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement and a demonstrated commitment to the Cochlear ideals of leadership and humanity.

Share this article


Related Content
Sign Up for Our eNewsletter
Our free eNewsletter is delivered to your inbox every two weeks - it’s the best way to stay informed about what’s new at Healthy Hearing!