The New Jersey Assembly passed ‘Grace's Law' today, Dec. 16, just three weeks after the state Senate did the same. The law, a hearing aid insurance mandate for children 15 years and younger, calls for health insurance providers in New Jersey to provide coverage for one hearing aid per ear, once every 2 years, with a cap of $1,000 per aid. The law allows parents to select any hearing aid and pay the difference between $1,000 and the remaining cost of whichever aid they choose.
Passing the Assembly on a 72-3 vote and unanimously in the Senate, Grace's law now moves to Gov. Corzine's desk, where it is expected to be signed into law. Once enacted, New Jersey will become the 13th state to enact some form of a hearing aid insurance mandate - the two most recent being Colorado and Delaware.